What is HTTP Status Code And Their Significance

HTTP status code is the response code given by server to tell whether the thing goes right or wrong. For example if you are looking for some page you typed the URL in your browser and hit enter if the page does not exist it returns 404 page not found so 404 is a standard HTTP status code which throws when the page you are looking for does not exist.

Popular HTTP Status Codes

200 – Request is successful
404 -Page not found
503 – Server is temporarily not available

HTTP 200’s Status Code

1. 200 -successful

This status code represent that the server has delivered the request successfully.

2. 206 Partial Content

When server has fulfilled the partial GET request.

300’s Redirection

1. 301 – Permanent Redirection

This status code signifies that the resource you are looking for permanently redirected to new location.

HTTP Status Code 400′s – problem with the request

1. 400 – Bad Request

Subscribe Our Tutorials

Get Latest Updates on Facebook

400 status code represent that server did not understand request completely due to syntax problem or bad syntax.

2. 401 – Unauthorized

As the name unauthorized represent that it requires user authentication. To access any resource client need to be authorized by the server.

3. 403 – Forbidden

In this case the request is valid but server refuse to respond.

4. 404 – Not Found

It is one of most common and popular status code which tells the resource you are looking for doesn’t exist.

HTTP Status Code 500s – Server Error

This status code is returned when client send a valid request but failed to fulfill the request.

503 – Service Unavailable

503 status code is returned when server is down or busy to fulfill other request due to which it unable to handle the current request.

504 – Gateway Timeout

In this case one server does not receive the timely response to another server.


About WebRewrite

I am technology lover who loves to keep updated with latest technology. My interest field is Web Development.
Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.